The John R. Rogers High School Wall of Remembrance was conceived by a group advising District 81 on the design for remodeling the existing building, built in 1932, and adding new space for classrooms, gymnasium and cafeteria. The proposed courtyard outside the new cafeteria incorporated a brick wall that shielded some utilities and storage space. The Alumni asked if they could use the wall to engrave names of past alumni. There were over 3,600 bricks that made up the ten foot tall wall. The John R. Rogers Alumni & Friends Foundation in partnership with the JRR Alumni Association started selling the opportunity of having graduates, faculty and other’s name engraved on the wall. Names and year of graduation were placed on the bricks. Over 2,400 bricks were initially engraved. The two associations paid to have lettering and decade numbers made. The two associations netted over $100,000 that they use to provide college scholarships and support athletic and student activity programs. The Wall is updated once a year with new brick purchases. The Wall is a lasting testament to the loyalty and support of the thousands of Pirates that have walked the halls.
If you are interested in purchasing a brick please click here.